To say final Good Bye to My Mother

mothers

Set It to Rights-Daily Prompt

My mother was suffering from Kidney failure for over 5 years. Her agony and pain was very deep and regular dialysis was breaking her day by day. She was fighting each and every day to bring smiles on our faces because she knew that our happiness was to see her alive. I remember those nights when she was not able to sleep because of her pain.

I remember those days when she felt better. Right in the morning, she cooked delicious breakfast for me and saw me to the gate and always waited on the door when I came back from college. Those days have gone, now I don’t see my mother waiting on the door but she is watching me from above. She was admitted in the hospital for a minor operation of fistula for her water dialysis .

It was over a month and I visited her twice as my exams were going on. My father hid all the complexities happening with her, from us. And when she was about to give up on life support system , my father finally told us. It came as a shock, the unbearable grief. She was on life support system for over 4 days and when I finally touched her feet in the ICU , two hours later she died. It was like a final farewell she wanted from me to leave this painful world. My father told me she was asking for me in her last days.

I know I cannot bring her back to set things right for her, for us but one thing I definitely want to do, to say final good bye to her with her ears listening and her eyes watching me. Maybe in the dreams I can say that but actually she is always alive in my dreams, when I am sleeping. I will always remember her sacrifice. Your life is so precious and you do not realize it until someone sacrifices for you.

I wrote an elegy in the memory of my mother few days ago-Memories

Photo credit- Google images

35 thoughts on “To say final Good Bye to My Mother

  1. sanehpandey March 11, 2015 / 5:04 pm

    I am sorry for your loss. I could feel your grief in your words. Blessings to you.

  2. Noirfifre March 11, 2015 / 5:54 pm

    Time passes but the memories live on. You keep her alive in your dreams – it keeps you positive. Stay Strong.

      • Noirfifre March 12, 2015 / 5:09 pm

        no problem, any time :).

  3. breakdownchick March 11, 2015 / 5:59 pm

    My heart goes out to you. I am sure she hears your words & sees your heart.

    • singhpiyush6089 March 11, 2015 / 6:03 pm

      Thank you for your kind words! I hope she is, from heaven!

      • breakdownchick March 11, 2015 / 6:12 pm

        Definitely! 🙂

    • singhpiyush6089 March 11, 2015 / 7:23 pm

      yeah I hope. thanks a lot lilypup for your kind words!

      • lilypup March 11, 2015 / 7:25 pm

        any time…you sound like a great person:)

      • singhpiyush6089 March 11, 2015 / 7:26 pm

        well I am Not, I just try to be!

  4. Healing Grief March 11, 2015 / 8:40 pm

    I am sorry for your loss. What you wrote for your Mother is beautiful and it is true, those who have passed are always alive in our dreams and our hearts.

  5. sameernahar March 12, 2015 / 12:38 am

    I am so sorry for your immense loss … strength, courage and more to you.

  6. kathyclem March 13, 2015 / 11:52 am

    So sorry to learn about your immense loss. Sending you lots of love. 🌹

  7. midimike March 13, 2015 / 2:45 pm

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Your mom sounds like a true inspiration.

    • singhpiyush6089 March 13, 2015 / 2:48 pm

      Yes she is an inspiration for me! Thank you Mike for your kind words!

  8. Prakash Hegade March 14, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    Was almost tears.. Praying for all the strength.. stay blessed.. i really dont know what to say..

    • singhpiyush6089 March 14, 2015 / 8:48 pm

      Thank you PH for your kind words! That happened few years ago, now i am completely alright and stronger than before! I guess you didn’t thought that it happened recently?

      • Prakash Hegade March 14, 2015 / 8:51 pm

        At first i thought recent.. then when i read the elegy, got to know that..

  9. sheenmeem March 15, 2015 / 1:12 pm

    I am so sorry your mother passed away, and join you in your grief. It’s such a big loss.

    • singhpiyush6089 March 15, 2015 / 1:29 pm

      Thank you for your kind and supporting words! That happened few years ago , now i have completely recovered from that grief and have become much stronger than before!

      • sheenmeem March 15, 2015 / 1:35 pm

        While reading, it felt so recent. My tears couldn’t stop. It was so heartfelt. I lost my mother when I was five, so reading about yours hit me hard. I could feel your pain, and loss.

      • singhpiyush6089 March 15, 2015 / 1:41 pm

        Oh I am really sorry if i made you cry! Everything is alright . Hold your emotions , you are strong and you are doing great!

  10. barrira March 17, 2015 / 3:58 pm

    So sorry about your loss, a mother’s place can never be filled. Be blessed.

  11. nakularora March 22, 2015 / 6:36 am

    I am sorry for your loss buddy. I lost my best friend due to kidney failure too.

  12. themissiontomars March 29, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    Ahhhh!! Am so sorry about such a big loss and at this moment i don’t know what to say, cause words can never replace the voids, the pain. but yet, one thing will remain, her blessings and her eternal love for you that won’t ever leave your side. Somewhere she is silently watching you and always praying for you and surely be proud of you to be her son,,many blessings to you and i pray you keep strong and be happy..take care my friend

    • singhpiyush6089 March 29, 2015 / 6:18 pm

      Her blessings are always with me, it has made me much more stronger than before! Your words really means a lot for me Roslyn!

Leave a Reply

